Granola (October 13, 2010)

I made this granola the other day so that I could have an unprocessed cold breakfast cereal. It isn’t as “local” as the recipe indicates that it could be, but I will indicate the modifications that I made.

1/2 cup Melted pastured Butter (such as Straus) or melted Coconut Oil or a combination (I used the butter I already had. It was probably  Kroger butter, but it might have been Land O Lakes)
1 Tbs. Cinnamon
1/4 tsp. freshly grated Nutmeg
Zest of 1 Orange (left this out)
4 cups Rolled Oats
1 cup Organic Coconut Flakes (I left this out)
1 cup Coarsely chopped Walnuts
1 cup Coarsely ground or chopped Almonds
1/3 cup Raw, local Honey (I used honey I already had. I am pretty sure it wasn’t raw.)
1 cup Unsweetened dried Cherries, Raisins, chopped dried Apricots or a combination (I used raisin, because they were the only dried fruit that I had that did not have processing.)

Mix everything except the honey and dried fruit thoroughly together in a large bowl.  Spread it in a thin layer on a large baking sheet, and bake at 350° F until evenly browned, 20-25 minutes.

You’ll want to stir it once or twice, and keep a close eye on those coconut flakes.  Remove from the oven, and drizzle the honey over all while it is still warm.  Stir to evenly coat the ingredients.

When the granola is cool, place back in the large bowl, and stir in the dried fruit.  Pack into a couple of Mason jars, lids on tight, and keep in the fridge or freezer to protect those essential fatty acids until serving time.

Note: You can omit the oats and use 3 cups of large coconut flakes if you want to make a paleo-friendly, lower-carb version.  Or try quinoa flakes instead for a gluten-free start to your day.  Or skip the sweetener, fat and baking altogether to make muesli, best prepared by soaking in yogurt overnight before serving.

I thought it was a good granola. I would make it again, for sure. I kind of hate that it uses so much butter, but I am not sure that I could get away with using something else as a fat that would taste as good and not be processed to some extent. Still a delicious and filling way to start the day. A

Leave a Reply

